ABOUT US

Company history

R.A.T.H. GmbH operator of regional passenger rail transport
Second RPRT network
Expansion in freight traffic
VIAS becomes operator of Rheingaulinie
Establishment of training centre
Span-off of transportation division
Reactivation of Wurmtalbahn
Erft-Schwalm-Network operating by VIAS
IT-Services by VISCOM
RATH training centre span-off
Change of name to RTB CARGO & expansion to Austria
Modern Simulators for LUKAS
Commissioning of the first own locomotives for freight traffic
Start of operations on the Bördebahn
Start of operation of the Rurtalbus
Odenwaldbahn until 2027
Foundation of Lok-Spitze Bahnpersonal GmbH (LSB)

R.A.T.H. GmbH operator of regional passenger rail transport

The Supervisory Board of Rurtalbahn GmbH passes the resolution on the sale of 74.9% of its shares in RATH GmbH. RATH is now the operator of regional passenger rail transport in Düren together with the District of Düren, and goods transport division of Rurtal railway.

Second RPRT network

Upon 2005/2006 timetable change, Rurtal railway and RATH expand their activities in regional passenger rail transport. After winning Odenwald railway tender, Rurtal railway incorporates VIAS together with Verkehrsgesellschaft Frankfurt am Main mbH (VGF). Thus, RATH now operates two regional passenger rail transport networks (SPNV). Odenwald railway network connects Frankfurt am Main with Darmstadt, Hanau and Eberbach.

Expansion in freight traffic

Already in 2005 Rurtal railway decides to expand in the area of goods transport. It results in the purchase of shares in TrainsporT AG in Belgium in 2006 and the start-up of Rurtal railway Cargo Benelux B.V. in 2007. The goods transport division of Rurtal railway continues to develop until it becomes a goods transport company operating on an international scale which now provides services to the largest sea ports of Europe at first hand.

VIAS becomes operator of Rheingaulinie

VIAS wins the second tender in regional passenger rail transport and is now the operator of Rheingau line between Koblenz, Wiesbaden and Frankfurt am Main. In 2010, Dänische Staatsbahn (DSB) takes over the shares in VGF and becomes a partner of RATH in VIAS GmbH.

Establishment of training centre

RATH establishes its own training centre. In doing so, RATH intensifies its efforts for professional training and continuing education of qualified personnel for the railway industry. At the same time, RATH focuses on internal training of its in-house personnel.

Span-off of transportation division

The goods transport division of Rurtal railway is span-off into a company of its own. Rurtalbahn Cargo GmbH is a 100% subsidiary of RATH and has its registered office in Aachen. The subsidiaries of Rurtalbahn Benelux B.V. and shares in TrainsporT AG are also span-off.

Reactivation of Wurmtalbahn

Rurtal railway reactivates Wurmtal railway route between Heinsberg and Lindern. This means that the town of Heinsberg is linked to the railway network again for the first time since 1980s. The 12.2 km long route network is completed and ready for train operation at the time of 2013 timetable change.

Erft-Schwalm-Network operating by VIAS

VIAS puts Erft-Schwalm network into operation. In March 2015, NVR had announced the successful participation of VIAS in the corresponding tender. Erft-Schwalm network connects the towns of Bedburg, Grevenbroich, Neuss and Düsseldorf (RB 38-Nord). VIAS operates 850,000 train-km more per year with this network.

IT-Services by VISCOM

RATH buys shares in VISCOM, its long-term IT partner. In doing so, RATH establishes itself as a future-oriented company which now independently offers internal and external IT services. Moreover, the railway-specific software can now be developed within its own group of companies.

RATH training centre span-off

RATH training centre is span-off and professionalised. The training centre now operates under the name of LUKAS and trains account managers and train drivers every year. Moreover, LUKAS also offers continuing education measures.

Change of name to RTB CARGO & expansion to Austria

Rurtalbahn GmbH was renamed RTB CARGO GmbH in 2016, which means that all companies in the CARGO Group will operate under the same brand name from that point on. In December of the previous year, RTB CARGO expanded to Austria and opened an office in Bergheim near Salzburg and thus the fourth branch.

Modern Simulators for LUKAS

LUKAS professionalises its training and continuing education by the use of modern simulators which are bough specifically for this purpose.

Commissioning of the first own locomotives for freight traffic

On December 10, 2018, RTB CARGO took over the first locomotives in its own possession. The locomotives 193 791 and 193 792 are in the corporate color of ultramarine blue. The 193 791 advertises with the slogan “Together through Europe”, while the 193 792 presents the workplace of a train driver and thus advertises our group-internal training center LUKAS with the slogan “With us on the Zugspitze”.

Start of operations on the Bördebahn

With the timetable change on December 15, 2019, the Rurtalbahn took over the daily regular operation of the RB28 line on the Bördebahn between Düren, Zülpich and Euskirchen. To start its operations, the Rurtalbahn repaired 6 stops on the route and modernized other parts of the route infrastructure. With the start of operations there is for the first time since 1983 a daily rail connection between the cities of Düren and Euskirchen.

Start of operation of the Rurtalbus

With more than 8 million bus kilometers, the DKB and the RATH Group won the largest transport contract ever advertised in the Federal Republic of Germany in May 2019. The offer, which started on January 1st, 2020 under the name Rurtalbus, is the continuation of a cooperation between the district of Düren and the RATH Group. By awarding the contract to the bidding consortium, the long-term partners are now in a position to offer a coordinated transport concept, with bus and train, from a single source. The ambitious bus tender with an additional service of 1.2 million bus kilometers and 100 bus routes makes it possible, in addition to an improved local transport offer, to implement more innovative transport concepts that prepare the city and district of Düren for future challenges.

Odenwaldbahn until 2027

VIAS Rail GmbH also won the next tendering period for the Odenwaldbahn in December 2013 and thus secured the operation of the network until December 2027. Furthermore, in December 2017, the vehicle fleet was expanded by four more vehicles of the type Alstom “LINT 54”.

Foundation of Lok-Spitze Bahnpersonal GmbH (LSB)

A new company called “Lok-Spitze Bahnpersonal GmbH (LSB)” was founded and started its operations on January 1st, 2021. With immediate effect, LSB will cover a new business area in the field of personnel services within the RATH Group. Lok-Spitze Bahnpersonal GmbH offers its services neutrally on the market, both for services in freight traffic and for passenger and construction train traffic. The company is based in Freilassing in Bavaria and is managed by Mr. Thomas Straßer as managing director. In the commercial area, Mr. Daniel Schell supports. We were able to win Mr. Jürgen Wrba for the operational management, who previously worked for Berchtesgadener Land-Bahn and as an independent personnel service provider. The first two train drivers have been working for LSB since March 1st, 2021.


Companies
Vehicles
approx.
+
Employees
approx.
+
Mio. € Turnover
Our

MISSION STATEMENT

Our company

We are a family-owned medium-sized group of companies.

How we work

We work locally, regionally and internationally in all areas of bus and railway systems.

Our approach

We put security, quality, occupational safety and environment at the heart of our activities.

Our Values

We honestly and respectfully live by our principles with the employees and partners.

Our Objective

We achieve a sustained added value by a partnership-like approach to our customers and suppliers.

Our Cooperation

We are loyal towards our companies.
We treat one another respectfully.
We work as a team.
We find solutions.
We are open for new ideas.

How we understand management

We manage on a cooperative basis.
We create new competencies by sharing experience.
We challenge and support.

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google

ÜBER UNS

Unternehmens­geschichte

Veräußerung an die R.A.T.H. GmbH
Zweites SPNV Netz
Expansion im Güterverkehr
VIAS wird Betreiber der Rheingaulinie
Gründung eines Ausbildungszentrums
Ausgliederung der Güterverkehrssparte
Reaktivierung der Wurmtalbahn
RB 34 und RB 38 in Nordrhein-Westfalen
IT-Dienstleistungen durch VISCOM
LUKAS wird das Bildungszentrum der RATH Gruppe
Umfirmierung RTB CARGO & Expansion nach Österreich
Moderne Simulatoren für LUKAS
Inbetriebnahme erster eigener Lokomotiven im Güterverkehr
Betriebsaufnahme Bördebahn
Betriebsaufnahme Rurtalbus
Odenwaldbahn bis 2027

Veräußerung an die R.A.T.H. GmbH

Der Aufsichtsrat der Rurtalbahn GmbH beschließt die Veräußerung von 74,9% seiner Anteile, an die R.A.T.H. GmbH. Die R.A.T.H GmbH ist nun zusammen mit dem Kreis Düren der Betreiber des Schienenpersonennahverkehrs in Düren, sowie der Güterverkehrssparte der Rurtalbahn. Mit dem Kauf der Rurtalbahn beginnt die Erfolgsgeschichte der RATH Gruppe im Jahr 2002.

Zweites SPNV Netz

Mit dem Fahrplanwechsel am 15. Dezember 2015 erweitert die Rurtalbahn – und hiermit die RATH Gruppe – ihre Tätigkeiten im Schienenpersonennahverkehr. Nach dem Gewinn der Ausschreibung der Odenwaldbahn, gründet die Rurtalbahn zusammen mit der Verkehrsgesellschaft Frankfurt am Main mbH (VGF) die VIAS. Somit betreibt die RATH nunmehr zwei SPNV Netze. Das Netz der Odenwaldbahn verbindet Frankfurt a.M. mit Darmstadt, Hanau und Eberbach.

Expansion im Güterverkehr

Bereits im Jahr 2005 beschließt die Rurtalbahn im Güterverkehr zu expandieren. Es kommt zum Anteilskauf an der TrainsporT AG in Belgien im Jahr 2006 sowie der Neugründung der Rurtalbahn Cargo Benelux B.V., im Jahr 2007. Die Güterverkehrssparte der Rurtalbahn entwickelt sich zu einem international tätigen Güterverkehrsunternehmen und bedient nun aus erster Hand die größten Seehäfen und meistfrequentierten Güterkorridore Europas.

VIAS wird Betreiber der Rheingaulinie

Die VIAS gewinnt die zweite Ausschreibung im Schienenpersonennahverkehr und ist nun Betreiber der Rheingaulinie zwischen Koblenz, Wiesbaden und Frankfurt a.M.. Im Jahr 2010 übernimmt die Dänische Staatsbahn (DSB) die Anteile der VGF und wird Partner der R.A.T.H. GmbH bei der VIAS GmbH.

Gründung eines Ausbildungszentrums

Die RATH Gruppe gründet ein eigenes Ausbildungszentrum. Damit intensiviert die RATH Gruppe ihre Bemühungen zur professionellen Aus- und Weiterbildung von Fachpersonal, für die Eisenbahnbranche. Gleichzeitig fokussiert sich die RATH Gruppe damit auf die interne Ausbildung von Personal im eigenen Haus.

Ausgliederung der Güterverkehrssparte

Die Güterverkehrssparte der Rurtalbahn wird ausgegliedert und zu einem eigenen Unternehmen. Die Rurtalbahn Cargo GmbH ist eine 100% Tochter der R.A.T.H. GmbH und hat ihren Sitz in Aachen. Die Tochtergesellschaften Rurtalbahn Benelux B.V., sowie die Anteile an der TrainsporT AG, werden ebenfalls ausgegliedert.

Reaktivierung der Wurmtalbahn

Die Rurtalbahn reaktiviert die Strecke der Wurmtalbahn zwischen Heinsberg und Lindern. Damit ist die Stadt Heinsberg seit den 1980er Jahren wieder an das Eisenbahnnetz angeschlossen. Das 12,2 km lange Streckennetz wurde zum Fahrplanwechsel 2013 für den Fahrbetrieb fertiggestellt.

RB 34 und RB 38 in Nordrhein-Westfalen

Am 26. März 2015 gaben der Verkehrsverbund Rhein-Ruhr und Nahverkehr Rheinland bekannt, dass die VIAS Rail GmbH ab dem Fahrplanwechsel im Dezember 2017 die nordrhein-westfälischen Regionalbahnlinien RB 34 und RB 38 betreiben wird. Auf den zwei Linien werden 12 neue Fahrzeuge des Typs Alstom „LINT 41 & 54“ eingesetzt.

IT-Dienstleistungen durch VISCOM

Die R.A.T.H. GmbH kauft Anteile an dem langjährigen IT-Partner VISCOM. Damit stellt sich die R.A.T.H. GmbH zukunftsorientiert auf und bietet nun eigenständig IT-Leistungen intern sowie extern an. Zudem kann nun die Entwicklung von eisenbahnspezifischer Software in der eigenen Unternehmensgruppe erfolgen.

LUKAS wird das Bildungszentrum der RATH Gruppe

Das RATH Bildungszentrum wird ausgegliedert und professionalisiert. Das Bildungszentrum operiert nun unter dem Namen LUKAS und bildet jährlich Triebfahrzeugführer und Kundenbetreuer aus. Zudem bietet die LUKAS auch Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen an.

Umfirmierung RTB CARGO & Expansion nach Österreich

Die Rurtalbahn GmbH wurde 2016 zur RTB CARGO GmbH umfirmiert, wodurch ab diesem Zeitpunkt alle Unternehmen der CARGO-Gruppe unter demselben Markennamen agieren.  Noch im Dezember des Vorjahres expandiert die RTB CARGO nach Österreich und eröffnet ein Büro in Bergheim bei Salzburg und damit auch die vierte Niederlassung.

Moderne Simulatoren für LUKAS

Die LUKAS professionalisiert ihre Aus- und Weiterbildung durch den Einsatz von modernen Simulatoren, die eigens hierfür gekauft wurden.

Inbetriebnahme erster eigener Lokomotiven im Güterverkehr

Am 10. Dezember 2018 hat die RTB CARGO die ersten Lokomotiven in eigenen Besitz übernommen. Die Lokomotiven 193 791 sowie 193 792 sind in der Unternehmensfarbe ultramarinblau gehalten. Die 193 791 wirbt mit dem Slogan „Gemeinsam durch Europa“, während die 193 792 den Arbeitsplatz eines Lokführers präsentiert und damit für unser gruppeninternes Ausbildungszentrum LUKAS mit dem Slogan „Mit uns auf die Zugspitze“ wirbt.

Betriebsaufnahme Bördebahn

Zum Fahrplanwechsel am 15. Dezember 2019 übernimmt die Rurtalbahn den täglichen Regelbetrieb der Linie RB28, auf der Bördebahn zwischen Düren, Zülpich und Euskirchen. Zur Betriebsaufnahme setzte die Rurtalbahn 6 Haltepunkte auf der Strecke instand und modernisierte weitere Teile der Streckeninfrastruktur. Mit der Betriebsaufnahme gibt es das erste Mal seit dem Jahr 1983 eine tägliche Eisenbahnverbindung, zwischen den Städten Düren und Euskirchen.

Betriebsaufnahme Rurtalbus

Mit mehr als 8 Millionen Buskilometern haben die DKB und die RATH Gruppe im Mai 2019 den größten jemals ausgeschriebenen Verkehrsauftrag der Bundesrepublik gewonnen. Das Angebot, welches am 1.1.2020 unter dem Namen Rurtalbus startet, ist die Fortsetzung einer Kooperation zwischen dem Kreis Düren und der RATH Gruppe. Durch die Vergabe an die Bietergemeinschaft sind die langjährigen Partner nun in der Lage, ein aufeinander abgestimmtes Verkehrskonzept, mit Bus und Bahn, aus einer Hand anzubieten. Die ambitionierte Busausschreibung mit einer Mehrleistung von 1,2 Millionen Buskilometern und 100 Buslinien ermöglicht es neben einem verbesserten Nahverkehrsangebot auch innovativere Verkehrskonzepte umzusetzen, die Stadt und Kreis Düren auf die zukünftigen Herausforderungen vorbereitet.

Odenwaldbahn bis 2027

Die VIAS Rail GmbH gewann auch die nächste Ausschreibungsperiode der Odenwald-Bahn im Dezember 2013 und sicherte sich damit den Betrieb des Netzes bis Dezember 2027. Des Weiteren wurde zum Dezember 2017 die Fahrzeugflotte um 4 weitere Fahrzeuge des Typs Alstom „LINT 54“ ergänzt.


Unternehmen
Fahrzeuge
+
Mitarbeiter
+
Mio. Umsatz
UNSER

LEITBILD

Unser Unternehmen

Wir sind eine inhabergeführte, mittelständische Unternehmensgruppe.

Unser Handeln

Wir handeln lokal, regional und international in allen Bereichen der Systeme Bus und Schiene

UNSER ANSPRUCH

Wir stellen Sicherheit, Qualität, Arbeitsschutz und Umwelt in den Mittelpunkt unserer Aktivitäten.

Unsere Werte

Wir leben unsere Grundsätze mit Mitarbeitern und Partnern ehrlich und respektvoll.

Unser Ziel

Wir erzielen im partnerschaftlichen Umgang mit unseren Kunden und Lieferanten einen nachhaltigen Mehrwert.

Unser Miteinander

Wir verhalten uns loyal zu unserem Unternehmen.
Wir gehen respektvoll miteinander um.
Wir arbeiten im Team.
Wir finden Lösungen.
Wir sind offen für neue Ideen.

Unser Führungsverständnis

Wir führen kooperativ.
Wir bilden neue Kompetenz durch Teilen von Erfahrung.
Wir fordern und fördern.

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google